rock out

CMJ recap – LiL J’s highlights

CMJ 2010 rocked NYC last week.  I hope some of you took my recommendations and were able to see some good shows. I didn’t get to see nearly as many bands as I hoped I would, but did manage to catch some sick performances. Here is a taste of some shows I saw…. these bands are all hot, so make sure you check them out, listen to their jams, and go see them when they are back in NYC!

YOUNG EMPIRES

I just can’t get enough of this Canadian trio. They played at Arlene’s  grocery on Saturday and despite the fact that it was a beautiful sunny afternoon outside, a good-sized crowd showed up to hear YE – it was well worth it. They have funky, crazy good energy, unique sound, and beats that make you want to move your hips. Hopefully, EPK, mayo and I will be hosting them on Newtown radio next time they are in town! I have no doubt that Young Empires will be huge in the not so distant future! check out a video from saturday’s show here:

MILLIONYOUNG

One of my favorites… Millionyoung knows how to get the party started, and everyone in the room ends up dancing and having a great time. Can’t wait to hear more from them… check out this video of millionyoung performing on Newtown Radio. This new song is awesome and showcases his talent, but is much more chill than what they tend to play at his shows which just make you wanna DANCE.

SUNGLASSES

saw these guys play before millionyoung took the stage at bar matchless on friday night in Brooklyn. they kicked total ass and had everyone bouncin around the room. this is also a pretty tight video:

DOM

Tuesday night, I got to see this up and coming band open for yo la tengo at Brooklyn bowl. these boys rocked out and had a great time while doing it. I was able to chat with the band’s front man, dom, after the show (thanks erica!) and he is a very cool guy. looking forward to seeing big things in their future!

Buhbye!

Leave a Reply

