new-years-eve-1907-times-square1

Top 10 #2010:: Contemporary and Re-earthed

Since I didn’t invest the time to review more than three full albums this year I don’t think it’s right for my top ten to try and dive any deeper  than just individual tracks, so what  follows is a compendium in that vain.  However, like you all, I did crawl the blogosphere such as any good music connoisseur and I’ve taken into consideration what we typically find there: not only entirely new tracks,EPs, or albums, but those deep cuts that resonate as either direct influencers and/or parallels to what’s filling our (my) ears today.  One or two or three may just be good ‘ole oldies or re-earthed tracks due to a recent reunion, but still, I’ll argue the preceding point.

 

 

As a final preface I’ll add that I’m not branching out much here genre-wise.  My taste, my influence.

Hope you like and feel free to add.

1. Deerhunter – Coronado

2. The Morning Benders – All Day All Night

3. Arcade Fire – Sprawl II (Mountains Beyond Mountains)

4. The Walkmen – Blue as Your Blood

5. Johan Blomgren – California Sundown

6. Bob Dylan – Just Like Tom Thumb’s Blues (Yesterday, the CBS Studios: Nashville/NYC Outtakes, ’69-’70)

7. Besnard Lakes – Albatross

8. Jerry Jeff Walker – Her Good Loving Grace

9. The National – England

10. Pavement – Range Life

BOOM.

2 comments

  1. DJ EPK (Eileen Patricia Kelly) · December 20, 2010

    BOOM!

    Like

  2. Lil J (julie paige) · January 27, 2011

    love your picks, dylan! great song list.

    Like

Leave a Reply

