kurt-vile-smoke-ring

Kurt Vile: In My Time

The lyrical reveries woven into Philadelphia singer-songwriter Kurt Vile’s latest album, Smoke Ring for My Halo, are both entirely relatable and distant, almost voyeuristic. But somehow Vile holds the paradox together and in doing so he has produced a fine album marked by the best execution of his defining artistic qualities to date – deftly layered guitar music, poignant lyrics, and clever hints of irony.

Pitchfork is correct that Smoke Ring for My Halo lacks an instantly catchy single like “Freeway” which appeared on Vile’s 2008 Constant Hitmaker LP– Smoke Rings, but in my mind that is this album’s greatest asset – listen to the whole thing, as is.

I don’t want to orphan this track. I only do so with the hopes you’ll dig further, so please do.

“In My Time”

Leave a Reply

